Popular travel destinations around the globe


Ohio was the 17th state to join the United States of America. Ohio officially became a state on March 1, 1803. The capital city is Columbus, which is also the largest city. The state is bordered by Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, Pennsylvania, and West Virginia.

Here are some official state symbols to help you get to know Ohio better.

  • State Nicknames: Buckeye State and Mother of Modern Presidents (seven presidents were Ohioans: Ulysses S. Grant, Rutherford B. Hayes, James A. Garfield, Benjamin Harrison, William McKinley, William Howard Taft, and Warren G. Harding)
  • Residents Called: Ohioans, Buckeyes
  • State Abbreviation: OH
  • State Flowers: Carnation & White Trillium
  • State Tree: Ohio Buckeye
  • State Beverage: Tomato juice
  • State Bird: Cardinal
  • State Mammal: White-tailed Deer
  • State Reptile: Black Racer
  • State Insect: Ladybug
  • State Gemstone: Flint

Car Rental Ohio

Did you know that Ohio is the 34th biggest state in the USA? The territory spans 44,828 square miles.